Equipment

Characterization

The laboratory boasts a wide range of state-of-the-art equipment, which it uses both for its research work and to provide services. To name but a few of the most important, it has :

Geometric quantities

Coordinate measuring machine (CMM)

Contact and non-contact geometric macro defects
Max. object size: X 200 Y 200 Z 1.1 mm
Accuracy: 4mm + L/100 (L in mm)
Manager: Hugues.Favrelière@univ-smb.fr

 

Scanning electron microscope (SEM)

Surface morphology (secondary electrons); Phase contrast (backscattered electrons); Quantitative analysis (EDS)
Max. object size: Æ 20 x 8 mm
Max. accuracy: 100 nm
Manager: Sandrine.Beauquis@univ-smb.fr

 

Surface measuring machine

Non-contact 3D surface scanning
Max. object size: 200 x 200 x 200 mm
Accuracy: vertical 60 nm; lateral 0.2 mm
Manager: Hugues.Favrelière@univ-smb.fr

Industrial tomograph

3D X-ray scanning of an object's internal and external surfaces (metallic materials, polymers, biomaterials, geomaterials, etc.).
Max. object size: 1000 x 1000 x 300 mm
Accuracy: 0.01 mm
Manager: Pierre.Vacher@univ-smb.fr

Atomic force microscope (AFM)

Contact and non-contact 3D surface scanning
Max. object size: 30 x 30 x 30 mm
Accuracy: vertical 1 nm; lateral 10nm
Manager: Yannick.Mugnier@univ-smb.fr

Nanosizer

Measurement of size, polydispersity and zeta potential of nanometric particles
Max object size: not applicable
Note: not applicable
Manager: Yannick.Mugnier@univ-smb.fr


Geometric and temporal quantities (vibrations)

Laser vibrometer

3D scanning of the outer surface of a vibrating object
Max. object size: 300x300x300
Accuracy: 0.01 mm
Manager: Adrien.Badel@univ-smb.fr

High-speed stereoscopic bench

Remote 3D scanning of external surfaces in motion or deformation
Max object size: unlimited
Accuracy: 0.1% of object size
Manager: Pierre.Vacher@univ-smb.fr


Mechanical quantities

Static traction machine

Strength tests; mechanical characterization...under controlled temperature
Max object size :
Accuracy: 0.1 Newton
Manager: Pascale.Balland@univ-smb.fr

Dynamic traction machine

Strength, creep and fatigue tests under variable load (Dynamics Mechanical Analysis)
Max. object size: 500 mm
Range: -7000N +7000N over -25 +25 mm at 0-50 Hz
Accuracy: 5 Newtons
Manager: Christophe.Depres@univ-smb.fr


Material constitution

Metallographic microscope

Microstructure and grain morphology; phase contrast (light, dark, interference contrast)
Max object size :
Accuracy: 0.1 Newton
Manager: Caroline.Antion@univ-smb.fr

Panalytical X'pert3 powder diffractometer

Phase identification; Rietvelt structure refinement; quantitative analysis of a powder mixture; grain size; mechanical stresses; mesh parameters; grazing incidence
Range: measurements up to 1600°C in various atmospheres possible
Note: not applicable
Manager: Yannick.Mugnier@univ-smb.fr


Thermal and thermodynamic quantities

Calorimeter

Study of structural transformations in alloys, minerals and oxides; development of phase diagrams; study of the reactivity of materials at high temperatures; determination of the heat capacity Cp
Max object size :
Note:
Manager: Marc.Lomello@univ-smb.fr

Thermal camera

Manager: Thomas.Mazingue@univ-smb.fr


Electromagnetic quantities

Cryocooler

Magnetic susceptibility; electrical resistivity; AC susceptibility; impedance spectroscopy
Max object size :
Note:
Manager: Jean-Christophe.Marty@univ-smb.fr