Investigation Unit

An entity to meet scientific and economic requirements

Since its inception, this original platform has served several purposes:

  • promote researchon a contract basis, particularly with sponsors outside the university
  • improve existing survey protocols
  • to enable the professionalisation of Master's students by involving them in the work of the Survey Unit

 

 

A unique and recognized resource for a diversity of actors in the area

A hybrid structure in which research fundamental and research applied, methodological and practical reflections, the Inquiry Unit today constitutes a unique interface between scientific approach and social demand.

Its vocation is not to be a service provider for the administration of surveys on the basis of standardised or stereotyped protocols. Rather, its ambition is to test, in real conditions, the innovative and relevant nature of new logics around questions of sampling, big data, and the link between qualitative and quantitative, in close partnership with local authorities, institutions, companies, associations and other university laboratories.

The Ministry of the Interior, the Post Office Group, the Savoie Mont-Blanc Chamber of Agriculture, theAgency for Energy Management and Development (ADEME), the Ministry of Ecological Transition, Savoie Mont Blanc Tourism (SMBT), private sector companies(Albedo Energy, AMO Infusion, EDF, etc.), and mountain doctors are among the structures that have called on the scientific and technical skills of the Research Centre on a contractual basis for a variety of issues.

Some ongoing partnerships

  • The Investigation Unit is currently conducting the national survey on the link between the population and the internal security forces, which aims to understand the perception that the inhabitants of the Quartiers de Reconquête Républicaine have of the law enforcement forces deployed under this new system.
  • For the past two years, the Survey Unit has been conducting a field survey for the Savoie Mont-Blanc Chamber of Agriculture, coupled with an analysis based on all existing data, in order to understand the dynamics of changes in agricultural structures (GAEC) and to identify the strengths/weaknesses of farms located in Savoie and Haute-Savoie.
  • After several years of collaboration with Mountain Doctors, in 2016 the Survey Unit implemented a specific computer tool for collecting data from which the world's largest statistical database on mountain sports traumatology is produced. Every year, around ten bachelor and master students collaborate in the administration of this survey.
  • With the support of first-year students in the USMB's Master's degree in Social Sciences Applied to Research and Surveys (SSAMEE), the Research Unit is assessing, on behalf of Savoie Mont-Blanc Tourisme (SMBT), the methodologies for segmenting the mountain tourist clientele in order to propose, in the long term, more refined approaches to better identify expectations, changes in behaviour, etc.

Pôle enquête

Une entité pour répondre à des exigences scientifiques et économiques

Cette plateforme originale répond, depuis son origine, à plusieurs objectifs :

  • favoriser la recherche sur contrat, notamment avec des commanditaires extérieurs à l’université
  • améliorer les protocoles d’enquête existants
  • permettre la professionnalisation des étudiants de master en les associant aux travaux du Pôle enquête

 

 

Une ressource unique et reconnue auprès d’une diversité d’acteurs du territoire

Structure hybride où se mêlent en permanence recherche fondamentale et recherche appliquée, réflexions méthodologiques et pratiques, le Pôle enquête constitue aujourd’hui une interface unique en son genre entre démarche scientifique et demande sociale.

Sa vocation n’est pas d’être un prestataire de service pour l’administration d’enquête sur la base de protocoles standardisés ou stéréotypés. Son ambition est plutôt de tester, en conditions réelles, le caractère innovant et pertinent de nouvelles logiques autour des questions d’échantillonnage, de big data, d’articulation entre le qualitatif et le quantitatif, ce en partenariat étroit avec des collectivités territoriales, des institutions, des entreprises, des associations et d’autres laboratoires universitaires.

Le ministère de l’intérieur, le Groupe la Poste, la Chambre d’agriculture Savoie Mont-Blanc, l’Agence de Maîtrise et de Développement de l’Énergie (ADEME), le Ministère de la Transition écologique, Savoie Mont Blanc Tourisme (SMBT), des entreprises du secteur privé (Albedo énergie, AMO Infusion, EDF, etc.), Médecins de Montagne, font partie des structures qui ont fait appel, sous forme contractuelle, aux compétences scientifiques et techniques du Pôle enquête autour de problématiques diverses.

Quelques partenariats en cours

  • Le Pôle enquête réalise actuellement l’enquête nationale sur le lien entre la population et les forces de sécurité intérieure qui vise à comprendre la perception que les habitants des Quartiers de Reconquête Républicaine se font des forces de l’ordre déployées dans le cadre de ce nouveau dispositif.
  • Depuis deux ans le Pôle enquête conduit, pour la Chambre d’agriculture Savoie Mont-Blanc, une enquête de terrain doublée d’une analyse à partir de l’ensemble des données existantes afin de comprendre les dynamiques d’évolution des structures agricoles (GAEC) et d’identifier les points forts/faibles des exploitations situées en Savoie et Haute-Savoie.
  • Après plusieurs années de collaboration avec Médecins de Montagne, le Pôle enquête a mis en œuvre en 2016 un outil informatique spécifique de récolte des données à partir desquelles est produite la plus grosse base statistique mondiale en traumatologie des sports de montagne. Chaque année, une dizaine d’étudiants de licence et de master collaborent à l’administration de cette enquête.
  • Appuyé par les étudiants de 1ère année de master Sciences Sociales Appliquées aux Métiers des Études et de l’Enquête (SSAMEE) de l’USMB, le Pôle enquête expertise, pour le compte de Savoie Mont-Blanc Tourisme (SMBT), les méthodologies de segmentation de la clientèle touristique en montagne afin de proposer, à terme, des approches plus fines pour mieux cerner les attentes, l’évolution des comportements, etc.