Finance

USMB Financial Developments 2015-2018

Source: Financial Accounts, Debate of'oribudget allocation.
Updated: September 2019

Table 1 - Excerpts from the USMB 2015-2018 financial accounts - Income and expenses

Table 1 shows, over the financial years 2015 to 2018, changes in a few major items of income and expenses from the financial accounts of the aggregate budget, as well as the result and self-financing capacity (CAF). It should be recalled that the financial accounts of the USMB have been certified without reservation by the auditor (Mazars firm) since 2012. This table shows some long-term characteristics.

  • Revenues will increase by €6.5 million between 2015 and 2018.
  • In terms of expenses, the wage bill represents a slightly increased share: 78.7% in 2014 and 79.6% in 2018. The line increases by 7.6% between 2015 and 2018, faster than other charges, faster also than the subsidy for public service charges (SCSP) which is supposed to finance it (+7.1%).
  • The result is positive over the four fiscal years, but remains low (0.8% of revenues in 2017 and 2018).
  • The CAF is positive and has so far proved sufficient to cover our investments not financed elsewhere (scientific, educational, major maintenance, etc.), by limiting withdrawals from working capital.

 

Table 2 - Extracts from the USMB 2015-2018 financial accounts - Investments and related financing


Table 2 shows the evolution of the investment section. After a peak in 2017, the volume of resources devoted to capital assets returns to its 2016 level. The year 2018 saw the delivery of the sports hall for the Jacob-Bellecombette campus and the building for the Polytech engineering school in Le Bourget-du-Lac. The amount of depreciation and amortization generated by investments financed from own resources is up slightly by 1.6% (€1.520 million in 2018 and €1.495 million in 2017), confirming that our annual rate of investment from own resources is appropriate.

The change in the working capital resulting from the 2018 budget implementation is €126k, which is increased by corrections of off-budget entries. At the end of 2018, the working capital represented 34 days of disbursable operating expenditure.

 

Table 3 - Some significant ratios 2015-2018 (aggregate budget)

Table 3 shows the amounts for some indicators. Working capital and cash flow, expressed in days of disbursable expenditure, are significantly above the vigilance thresholds set by our supervisory authorities (15 days and 30 days respectively). The ratio of personnel expenses to cash income is an indicator that remains at the vigilance threshold (82% - 83%), requiring us to approach our employment policy responsibly. The share of the increase in the wage bill explained by the GVT balance calculated for 2018 amounts to 605 k€.

The level of the indicators taken from the balance sheets (FR, cash flow) makes it possible to conclude that the assets and liabilities situation is healthy, without excess, and that it can be maintained at the cost of rigorous and careful management of resources, in particular human resources.

Finances

Évolution de la situation financière de l’USMB 2015-2018

Tableau 1 – Extraits des comptes financiers USMB 2015-2018 – Produits et charges

Le tableau 1 présente, sur les exercices 2015 à 2018, les évolutions de quelques grands postes de produits et de charges issus des comptes financiers du budget agrégé, ainsi que le résultat et la capacité d’autofinancement (CAF). Rappelons que les comptes financiers de l’USMB sont certifiés sans réserve par le commissaire aux comptes (cabinet Mazars) depuis 2012. Ce tableau fait ressortir quelques caractéristiques de long terme.

  • Les produits augmentent de 6,5 M€ entre 2015 et 2018.
  • En termes de charges, la masse salariale représente une part en légère augmentation : 78,7 % en 2014 et 79,6 % en 2018. La ligne augmente de 7,6 % entre 2015 et 2018, plus rapidement que les autres charges, plus rapidement également que la subvention pour charge de services publics (SCSP) qui est censée la financer (+7,1 %).
  • Le résultat est positif sur les quatre exercices, mais reste faible (0,8 % des produits en 2017 et 2018).
  • La CAF est positive et s’est avérée jusqu’à présent suffisante pour couvrir nos investissements non financés par ailleurs (scientifiques, pédagogiques, grosse maintenance, etc.), en limitant les prélèvements sur le fonds de roulement.

 

Tableau 2 – Extraits des comptes financiers USMB 2015-2018 – Investissements et financements associés


Le tableau 2 présente l’évolution de la section investissement. Après un pic en 2017, le volume des ressources consacrées aux immobilisations revient à son niveau de 2016. L’année 2018 a été celle de la livraison de la halle des sports du campus de Jacob-Bellecombette et du bâtiment pour l’école d’ingénieurs Polytech au Bourget-du-Lac. Le montant des dotations aux amortissements généré par les investissements financés sur ressources propres est en légère hausse de 1,6 % (1,520 M€ en 2018 et 1,495 en 2017), confirmant que notre rythme d’investissement annuel sur ressources propres est approprié.

La variation du fonds de roulement résultant de l’exécution budgétaire 2018 est de 126 k€, celle-ci est augmentée par des corrections d’écritures réalisées hors budget. Fin 2018, le fonds de roulement représentait 34 jours de dépenses décaissables de fonctionnement.

 

Tableau 3 – Quelques ratios significatifs 2015-2018 (budget agrégé)

Le tableau 3 rappelle les montants relatifs à quelques indicateurs. Le fonds de roulement et la trésorerie, exprimés en jours de dépenses décaissables, sont sensiblement au-dessus des seuils de vigilance fixés par nos tutelles (respectivement 15 jours et 30 jours). Le ratio des charges de personnel rapportées aux produits encaissables est un indicateur qui reste en seuil de vigilance (82 % – 83 %), nous imposant d’aborder notre politique d’emploi avec responsabilité. La part de l’augmentation de la masse salariale expliquée par le glissement-vieillissement-technicité (GVT solde) calculée pour 2018 s’élève à 605 k€.

Le niveau des indicateurs issus des bilans comptables (FR, trésorerie) permet de conclure à une situation patrimoniale saine, sans excès, et qui se maintient au prix d’une gestion rigoureuse et parcimonieuse des ressources, en particulier humaines.

Source : Comptes financiers, Débat d’orientation budgétaire.
Mise à jour : septembre 2019