Amphis pour Tous - Empathy: the social brain, the pilot of our emotions and our health

27 March 2018 19:00 - 27 March 2018 20:30

The conference "Empathy: the social brain, pilot of our emotions and health", presented by Arnaud Carré, Senior Lecturer Inter-University Laboratory of Psychology - Personality, Cognition, Social Change (LIP-PC2S), UFR Humanities, Languages and Social Sciences, will take place on Tuesday 27 March 2018 at 7pm in Annemasse (Cité de la Solidarité Internationale, 13 avenue Émile Zola 74100 Annemasse).

ABOUT THE CONFERENCE

Empathy, the ability to put oneself in the place of others, is a fundamental and complex phenomenon invested by many fields such as psychology and neuroscience, education, health and the promotion of well-being. Finding its origins in the evolution of species and adaptation to their environment, empathy has become an object of study to better understand the regulation of emotions.

Conceptualizing these cerebral and psychological processes of emotional resonance and social cognition allows a better formulation of diagnoses and therapies in many contexts. These range from autism to anxiety and depression, as well as Alzheimer's disease, antisocial behaviour and certain somatic disorders. Beyond the context of pathologies, empathy represents an important lever in the field of development, education and health. In other words, empathy is a process that concerns us all!

LEARN MORE

Amphis pour Tous – L’empathie : le cerveau social, pilote de nos émotions et de notre santé

La conférence « L’empathie : le cerveau social, pilote de nos émotions et de notre santé », présentée par Arnaud Carré, Maître de conférences Laboratoire Inter-universitaire de Psychologie – Personnalité, Cognition, Changement Social (LIP-PC2S), UFR Lettres, Langues et Sciences Humaines, aura lieu le mardi 27 mars 2018 à 19h à Annemasse (Cité de la Solidarité Internationale, 13 avenue Émile Zola 74100 Annemasse).

À PROPOS DE LA CONFÉRENCE

L’empathie, cette capacité à se mettre à la place d’autrui, est un phénomène fondamental et complexe investi par de nombreux champs  comme ceux de la psychologie et des neurosciences, de l’éducation, de la santé et de la promotion du bien-être. Trouvant ses origines dans l’évolution des espèces et l’adaptation à leur environnement, l’empathie est devenue un objet d’étude pour mieux comprendre la régulation des émotions.

Conceptualiser ces processus cérébraux et psychologiques de résonance émotionnelle et de cognition sociale permet une meilleure formulation des diagnostics et des thérapies dans de nombreux contextes. Ceux-ci vont de l’autisme à l’anxiété et la dépression, en passant par la maladie d’Alzheimer, les comportements antisociaux ou bien encore certains troubles somatiques. Au-delà du contexte des pathologies, l’empathie représente un levier important dans le champ du développement, de l’éducation et de la santé. En d’autres termes, l’empathie est un processus qui nous concerne toutes et tous !

EN SAVOIR PLUS