science day

Science Day

From October 7 to 17, 2022: come and meet the researchers of the USMB!

Manipulate, test, take part in laboratory visits, talk to researchers, discover research jobs and stimulate your taste for science! The Fête de la Science consists of thousands of free activities throughout France. On this occasion, science takes over public places and researchers come to meet you.

This year, the Fête de la science has chosen to bring together all lovers of knowledge around an issue that is central to the concerns of citizens and public authorities: climate change.

The animations will take place subject to the sanitary conditions related to the epidemic of the Coronovirus (COVID-19) and in respect of the safety instructions in force in the place hosting the event. 

On the agenda

IN SAVOIE MEET THE RESEARCHERS OF THE USMB

Monday, October 10, 2022 - 2pm - Unusual visit - Lake Aiguebelette

The truth is in the lake: participating in a sediment sampling at Lake Aiguebelette
By Fabien Arnaud and Erwan Messager, CNRS researchers at the Laboratoire Environnements, Dynamiques et Territoires de Montagne (EDYTEM)

Aboard boats, discover with scientists how to "make the sediments taken from the bottom of Lake Aiguebelette speak". Lake cores are natural archives; they tell us what the environment looked like a few million years ago, but also the past history of the climate, of human occupation... The scientists present will do a reading of the landscape and a lake sediment core. The boats will be a small catamaran on a base of 2 dugouts (4+4 pers) and a Canadian canoe (4 pers). Visit on registration, by clicking here.

This visit takes place within the framework of the science festival, but also of the operation "Unusual visits of the CNRS" which takes place in the whole France.

Tuesday, October 11, 2022 - 18h - Conference - Presidency of theUniversité Savoie Mont Blanc, Chambéry

Mineral resources in transition: between crisis and sustainability
By Marie Forget and Magali Rossi, lecturers at the Laboratoire Environnements, Dynamiques et Territoires de Montagne (EDYTEM)

The production of mineral raw materials is growing exponentially to meet the needs and economic development of a growing world population. In a world in transition, needs are changing, both in terms of the nature of the raw materials required and in terms of quantity. The countries that produce these materials (Southern countries) are often not those that consume the final products (Northern countries). Thus, the territories of exploitation bear the environmental and social impacts while putting extractive activities and local populations in competition for access to fundamental resources such as water or access to land. It is therefore necessary to rethink the governance and sustainability of extractive activities at all scales, from the mining territory to the global scale.

 

From 15 years old.

This conference is part of the 2022-2023 Amphitheatre for All season.

Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 October - Village des Sciences - from 10am to 12:30pm and from 2pm to 6pm - Le manège, Chambéry

How can our buildings adapt to the climate transition?
By the Laboratoire prOCédés énergIe bâtimEnt (LOCIE)

In a context of climate transition, we must implement measures to reduce our needs, to make energy systems more efficient, and to use more renewable energy: discover the latest innovations in the field of building and renewable energy!

 

Human - Machine Interface: control of a robot by muscle contraction.
By the Laboratory of Motor Biology (LIBM)

How does muscle contraction work?
Different organs are involved in this neuromuscular action. To demonstrate this function, we will propose to control a robot by the electrical activity of your muscle or your brain.

FUTOURISM, the future of tourism in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

By Pascale Balland, in charge of Scientific and Technical Culture

Exploring the future of tourism in the Auvergne Rhône-Alpes region in 2050!

Come and discover the tourist guide elaborated by Master students of the region, webdocumentaries on university research, a quiz, exchanges with researchers...

Sunday, October 16 - from 5 to 5:45 p.m. - Conference - Village des Sciences - Le Manège - Chambéry

To live well with global warming, one solution: air conditioning?
By Nolwenn Le Pierrès, university professor at the Laboratoire prOCédés énergIe bâtimEnt (LOCIE)

In a context of global warming, a technical solution can ensure our comfort inside buildings: air conditioning. This machine, whose investment cost is now reasonable, allows us to control indoor conditions: how does it work? What are its performances, its advantages and disadvantages? Is it the right solution to climate change?

IN HAUTE-SAVOIE MEET THE RESEARCHERS OF THE USMB

Friday,October 7, 2022 - Conference/Debate Inaugural Evening - Annecy Campus - from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm

Conference/debate on hydrogen

Great hopes are pinned on the generation, storage and use of hydrogen to produce energy. Hydrogen could be the missing link in the renewable energy economy. This is a matter of debate, however, because we sometimes only have a partial view of reality. For example, if we only look at the emissions of a hydrogen vehicle, we could easily convince ourselves that this is THE process to adopt for the future. The reality is a bit more complex if we look at the complete cycle of production and use of hydrogen. Hydrogen is therefore currently at the center of attention and at the heart of a social debate. While it is easy to be enthusiastic about this process, various detractors are pointing the finger at the hidden effects of using hydrogen as a means of combating greenhouse gases.

How can we form an opinion? This lecture first briefly discusses the basics of scientific analysis and then focuses on a concrete example of hydrogen use in the heavy industry sector. Hydrogen is not only used as a substitute for fossil fuels in transportation.

In 2016, SSAB, LKAB and Vattenfall joined forces to create HYBRIT - a joint venture project that strives to revolutionize steel manufacturing. Steel production alone is estimated to be responsible for 5% of the world's carbon dioxide emissions. HYBRIT aims to replace coking coal, traditionally needed in ore-based steelmaking, with hydrogen. It will be the world's first fossil-free steelmaking technology with a near-zero carbon footprint. HYBRIT's success means that it will be possible to reduce Sweden'sCO2 emissions by 10% and Finland's by 7%.
Thomas Müller, head of product development at SSAB, will travel from Sweden to give us an unprecedented presentation of this technology and the benefits it can bring. A testimonial by an actor at the heart of the issue that will allow us to increase our knowledge of the benefits of hydrogen and therefore to objectively evaluate the interest of developing technologies based on its use.

Where ? Polytech Annecy Chambéry engineering school, 5 chemin de Bellevue / Amphi B14 accessible from the main entrance of the school.

Who is it?

  • Laurent Tabourot, teacher-researcher at the USMB
  • Thomas Müller, Product Development Manager, SSAB

Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 October 2022 - Village des Sciences - Campus d'Annecy -

The science village, as every year, will include various demonstrations and conferences from Saturday to Sunday evening. The village under the sign of the energy transition will open its doors with an introductory conference on hydrogen. Various demonstrations, 3D printing, vacuum manipulation, will be offered to visitors on Saturday and Sunday.

Animation "the emotion of discovery

By the troop "les petits Escholiers

The troop "Les petits Escholiers" will do an animation entitled "the emotion of discovery" around the theme of this year's science festival.

Pepper animation and discovery game

You will be welcomed by the students of the engineering school Polytech Annecy Chambéry and the teachers-researchers of the site and... their robots which will accompany you on the various stands.

Avalanche risk management: from the triggering mechanism to route choices

By Frédéric Pourraz, from the Computer Science, Systems, Information and Knowledge Processing Laboratory (LISTIC)

You practice ski touring, off-piste skiing, snowshoeing, or you are simply curious! Come and discover the CRISTAL approach ...

Thanks to videos of snow tests, you will discover the notions of "fragile layer", "rupture initiation", "disintegration", "propagation", at the origin of the triggering of the plates. You will understand which are the most important parameters to take into account in avalanche risk management.

You will also discover the SYNTHESIS tool: an innovative tool to facilitate the implementation of this risk management approach.

Be curious! Winter is coming !

Sandbox 4.0

By Laurent Tabourot, from SYstème et Matériaux pour la MÉcatronique (SYMME)

Come and play with our 4.0 sandbox. How does augmented reality work? With an augmented reality sandbox, you can create lakes and rivers while raising awareness of new technologies. This instrumented sandbox will allow young and old to find themselves immersed in a very playful but also very instructive universe.

Explainable Artificial Intelligence (AI) for Earth observation by satellite images

By Nicolas Méger of the Computer Science, Systems, Information and Knowledge Processing Laboratory (LISTIC)

Nowadays, the 24-hour observation of the Earth with dedicated satellites generates voluminous data with rich information content. New AI methods (XAI - eXplainable AI) allowing to exploit these data by combining performance and explicability of results will be presented.

FUTOURISM, the future of tourism in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

By Pascale Balland, in charge of Scientific and Technical Culture

Exploring the future of tourism in the Auvergne Rhône-Alpes region in 2050!

Come and discover the tourist guide elaborated by Master students of the region, webdocumentaries on university research, a quiz, exchanges with researchers...

All the stands will be presented on the website of the Science Festival (link to come). You will also find all the updated information about the 2022 Science Village, especially in case of cancellations due to health restrictions.

Thursday, October 13, 2022 - Show - Cafeteria IUT, Annecy campus - 6:30 pm to 7:30 pm

The Neutrino Passoire
A dance and particle physics show by the Berdahi association and researchers Iro Koletsou and Laura Zambelli from the Annecy Laboratory of Particle Physics.

from 18 years old

"The Neutrino Passoire" is a project of art and science, dance and physics, which wishes to tell a scientific discovery, while presenting it with familiar terms and images to make it accessible. On stage, three dancers: one tells the story with her voice, the two others with their movements.

Representing matter and more particularly human bodies as sieves, constantly crossed by neutrinos, the show questions the limits we create with the outside world. Is this limit our skin? Neutrinos are the pretext to question the notion of borders - of all kinds.

Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 October 2022 - Exhibition and workshops - Bonlieu Exhibition Forum, Annecy - 1pm to 6pm

Scientists' words
Workshops and open discussions with LAPP scientists in the middle of the exhibition "The Sketchbook and the Collider"
by artist Ian Andrews

What science lies behind the work of artist Ian Andrews? Where is it practiced? During the whole weekend, the LAPP scientists will be present in the exhibition of the Espace Bonlieu to exchange with the greatest number of people! Free entrance, activities and explanations adapted to all ages.

Find out more about the exhibition and the activities organized during the Fête de la Science.

The objectives of the science festival

Every year, the Fête de la Science provides an opportunity to discover, understand, experiment, and debate the relationship between science and society, to explore the technologies of today and tomorrow, and to bring science closer to citizens. The Fête de la Science combines science and culture in an attractive way, allowing visitors to discover the extraordinary wealth of scientific disciplines and illustrating the major contributions of science to society and its new challenges.

Researchers fromuniversité Savoie Mont Blanc share and exchange with the public

Foruniversité Savoie Mont Blanc, the Fête de la Science is an opportunity to raise awareness of its research areas and its role in society. The meeting with high school students also allows us to raise awareness among young people and to develop an interest in science in general and in scientific studies and careers.

Every year, the university's staff, teachers, researchers and professors enthusiastically invest in sharing their passion for science with the general public.
For the 2022 edition, theIUT of Annecy, Polytech Annecy-Chambéry and 4 laboratories of theUniversité Savoie Mont Blanc invite you in Savoie and Haute-Savoie within the framework of the actions deployed in collaboration with the Turbine sciences (Haute-Savoie) and the Galerie Eurêka (Savoie):

To know more about it

fete de la science

Fête de la Science

Du 7 au 17 octobre 2022 : venez rencontrer les chercheurs et chercheuses de l’USMB !

Manipulez, testez, participez à des visites de laboratoires, dialoguez avec des chercheurs et chercheuses, découvrez les métiers de la recherche, stimulez votre goût pour les sciences ! La Fête de la Science, ce sont des milliers d’animations gratuites, partout en France. À cette occasion, la science investit les lieux publics et les chercheurs et chercheuses viennent à votre rencontre.

Cette année, la Fête de la science a choisi de rassembler tous les amoureux de la connaissance autour d’un enjeu au centre des préoccupations des citoyens et de l’action des pouvoirs publics : le changement climatique.

Les animations auront lieu sous réserve des conditions sanitaires liées à l’épidémie du Coronovirus (COVID-19) et en respectant les consignes de sécurité en vigueur mises en place dans le lieu accueillant l’événement. 

Au programme

  EN SAVOIE   RENCONTREZ LES CHERCHEURS ET CHERCHEUSES DE L’USMB

Lundi 10 octobre 2022 – 14h • Visite insolite • Lac d’Aiguebelette

La vérité est dans le lac : participer à un prélèvement sédimentaire au lac d’Aiguebelette
Par Fabien Arnaud et Erwan Messager, chercheurs du CNRS au Laboratoire Environnements, Dynamiques et Territoires de Montagne (EDYTEM)

A bord d’embarcations, découvrez avec des scientifiques comment « faire parler » les sédiments prélevés au fond du lac d’Aiguebelette. Les carottes lacustres sont des archives naturelles ; elles nous racontent ce à quoi ressemblait l’environnement il y a quelques millions d’années, mais aussi l’histoire passée du climat, celle de l’occupation humaine… Les scientifiques présents feront une lecture du paysage et un carottage sédimentaire lacustre. Les embarcations seront un petit catamaran sur une base de 2 pirogues (4+4 pers) et un canoë canadien (4 pers). Visite sur inscription, en cliquant ici.

Cette visite a lieu dans le cadre de la fête de la science, mais également de l’opération “Visites insolites du CNRS” qui se déroule dans la France entière.

Mardi 11 octobre 2022 – 18h • Conférence • Présidence de l’Université Savoie Mont Blanc, Chambéry

Les ressources minérales dans la transition : entre crises et durabilité
Par Marie Forget et Magali Rossi, maîtresses de conférences au Laboratoire Environnements, Dynamiques et Territoires de Montagne (EDYTEM)

La production de matières premières minérales suit une croissance exponentielle pour subvenir aux besoins et au développement économique d’une population mondiale croissante. Dans un monde en transition, les besoins évoluent, aussi bien en termes de nature des matières premières nécessaires que de quantité. Les pays producteurs de ces matières (pays des Suds) ne sont souvent pas ceux qui consomment les produits finaux (pays des Nords). Ainsi, les territoires d’exploitation supportent les impacts environnementaux et sociaux tout en mettant en concurrence activités extractives et populations locales pour l’accès à des ressources fondamentales comme l’eau ou l’accès à la terre. Il s’agit donc de repenser la gouvernance et la durabilité des activités extractives à toutes les échelles, du territoire minier à l’échelle mondiale.

 

À partir de 15 ans.

Cette conférence appartient à la saison 2022-2023 des Amphis pour Tous.

Dimanche 16 octobre – de 17h à 17h45 • Conférence • Village des Sciences – Le Manège – Chambéry

Pour bien vivre le réchauffement climatique, une solution : la clim ? 
Par Nolwenn Le Pierrès, professeure des universités au Laboratoire prOCédés énergIe bâtimEnt (LOCIE)

Dans un contexte de réchauffement climatique, une solution technique permet d’assurer notre confort à l’intérieur des bâtiments : la climatisation. Cette machine, dont le coût d’investissement est maintenant raisonnable, permet de maitriser les conditions intérieures : comment fonctionne-t-elle? Quelles sont ses performances, ses avantages et inconvénients ? Est-elle la bonne solution face au changement climatique ?

Samedi 15 et dimanche 16 octobre • Village des Sciences • de 10h à 12h30 et de 14h à 18h Le manège, Chambéry

Quelles adaptations de nos bâtiments à la transition climatique ?
Par le Laboratoire prOCédés énergIe bâtimEnt (LOCIE)

Dans un contexte de transition climatique, nous devons mettre en œuvre des mesures à la fois pour réduire nos besoins, pour que les systèmes énergétiques soient plus efficaces, et utiliser plus d’énergies renouvelables : découvrez les dernières innovations dans le domaine du bâtiment et des énergies renouvelables !

 

Interface Humain – Machine : contrôle d’un robot par la contraction musculaire.
Par le Laboratoire de Biologie de la Motricité (LIBM)

Comment fonctionne la contraction musculaire ?
Différents organes interviennent pour effectuer cette action neuro- musculaire. Pour mettre en évidence ce fonctionnement, nous vous proposerons de contrôler un robot par l’activité électrique de votre muscle ou de votre cerveau.

FUTOURISME, l’avenir du tourisme en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Par Pascale Balland, chargée de mission Culture Scientifique et Technique

Explorer l’avenir du tourisme en région Auvergne Rhône- Alpes en 2050 !

Venez découvrir le guide touristique élaboré par des étudiantes et étudiants de Master de la région, des webdocumentaires sur la recherche universitaire, un quiz, des échanges avec les chercheurs…

  EN HAUTE- SAVOIE   RENCONTREZ LES CHERCHEURS ET CHERCHEUSES DE L’USMB

Vendredi 7 octobre 2022 Conférence/Débat Campus d’Annecy de 18h30 à 20h30 

Conférence débat sur l’hydrogène

De grands espoirs sont fondés sur le génération, le stockage et l’utilisation de l’hydrogène pour produire de l’énergie. l’hydrogène pourrait être le chaînon manquant dans l’économie des énergies renouvelables. Ce schéma idyllique a ses détracteurs. L’objectif est ici d’apporter les informations pour que chacun se forge son opinion.

L’hydrogène est au centre des attentions et au cœur d’un débat de société. Sur le papier, le schéma est pratiquement parfait et l’hydrogène pourrait apparaître comme le chaînon manquant pour l’écosystème de gestion de l’énergie dite renouvelable. Toutefois la réalité est moins rose et différents détracteurs pointe du doigt les effets masqués du recours à l”hydrogène comme vecteur. Entre utilisation de matériaux spécifiques très coûteux, rendements assez faibles production de gaz à effet de serre, il y a matière à débat. Cette action a deux volets, une conférence/table ronde et une démonstration

Samedi 8 et Dimanche 9 Octobre 2022 • Village des Sciences • Campus d’Annecy

Le village des sciences comme chaque année comportera différentes démonstrations et conférences du samedi jusqu’à dimanche soir. Le village placé sous le signe de la transition énergétique ouvrira ses portes par une conférence introductive sur l’hydrogène. Différentes démonstrations, impressions 3D, manipulation du vide, …, seront proposées aux visiteurs le samedi et le dimanche.

Animation “l’émotion de la découverte”

Par la troupe “les petits Escholiers”

La troupe “Les petits Escholiers” fera une animation intitulée “l’émotion de la découverte” autour du thème de la fête de la science de cette année.

Animation Pepper et jeu de la découverte

Vous serez accueillis par les étudiants de l’école d’ingénieurs Polytech Annecy Chambéry et les enseignants–chercheurs du site et… leurs robots qui vous accompagneront sur les différents stands.

Gestion des risques liés aux avalanches : du mécanisme de déclenchement aux choix d’itinéraire

Par Frédéric Pourraz, du Laboratoire d’Informatique, Systèmes, Traitement de l’Information et de la Connaissance (LISTIC)

Vous pratiquez le ski de randonnée, le ski hors-piste, les raquettes, ou vous êtes tout simplement curieux ! Venez découvrir la démarche CRISTAL …

Grâce à des vidéos de tests nivologiques, vous découvrirez les notions de “couche fragile”, “amorce de rupture”, “désagrégation”, “propagation”, à l’origine du déclenchement des plaques. Vous comprendrez quels sont les paramètres les plus importants à prendre en compte dans la gestion du risque d’avalanche.

Vous découvrirez également l’outil SYNTHESIS : un outil innovant pour faciliter la mise en œuvre de cette démarche de gestion de risques.

Soyez curieux ! L’hiver approche !

Bac à sable 4.0

Par Laurent Tabourot, du SYstème et Matériaux pour la MÉcatronique  (SYMME)

Venez jouer avec notre bac à sable 4.0. Comment fonctionne la réalité augmentée ? Avec un bac à sable en réalité augmentée on peut créer des lacs, des rivières tout en sensibilisant aux nouvelles technologies. Ce bac à sable instrumenté permettra aux plus jeunes et aux moins jeunes se retrouver immergé dans un univers très ludique mais aussi très instructif.

Intelligence Artificielle (IA) explicable pour l’observation de la Terre par images satellites

Par Nicolas Méger du Laboratoire d’Informatique, Systèmes, Traitement de l’Information et de la Connaissance (LISTIC)

De nos jours, l’observation de la Terre 24h/24 à l’aide de satellites dédiés génère des données volumineuses au riche contenu informationnel. De nouvelles méthodes d’IA (XAI – eXplainable AI) permettant d’exploiter ces données en alliant performance et explicabilité des résultats seront présentées.

FUTOURISME, l’avenir du tourisme en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Par Pascale Balland, chargée de mission Culture Scientifique et Technique

Explorer l’avenir du tourisme en région Auvergne Rhône- Alpes en 2050 !

Venez découvrir le guide touristique élaboré par des étudiantes et étudiants de Master de la région, des webdocumentaires sur la recherche universitaire, un quiz, des échanges avec les chercheurs…

Tous les stands seront présentés sur le site de la fête de la Science (lien à venir). Vous y trouverez également toutes les informations actualisées sur le village des sciences de l’édition 2022, notamment en cas de repli s’il devait y avoir des annulations liées aux éventuelles restrictions sanitaires.

Jeudi 13 Octobre 2022 • Spectacle • Cafétéria IUT, Campus d’Annecy • 18h30 à 19h30

The Neutrino Passoire
Un spectacle de danse et de physique des particules par l’association Berdahi et les chercheurs Iro Koletsou et Laura Zambelli du Laboratoire d’Annecy de Physique des Particules.

à partir de 18 ans

« The Neutrino Passoire » est un projet d’art et de science, de danse et de physique, qui souhaite raconter une découverte scientifque, tout en la présentant avec des termes et des images familiers afin de la rendre accessible. Sur scène trois danseuses : une raconte l’histoire avec la voix, les deux autres avec le mouvement.

Représentant la matière et plus particulièrement les corps humains comme des passoires, constamment traversés par des neutrinos, le spectacle questionne les limites que nous créons avec le monde extérieur. Est-ce que cette limite est notre peau ? Les neutrinos sont le prétexte pour remettre en question la notion des frontières – de toutes sortes.

Samedi 15 et Dimanche 16 Octobre 2022 • Exposition et ateliers • Forum Exposition Bonlieu, Annecy • 13h à 18h

Paroles de scientifiques
Ateliers et échanges libres avec des scientifiques du LAPP au milieu de l’exposition “Le carnet de croquis et le collisionneur”
de l’artiste Ian Andrews

Quelle science se cache derrière le travail de l’artiste Ian Andrews ? Où se pratique-t-elle ?  Pendant tout le weekend, les scientifiques du LAPP seront présents dans l’exposition de l’espace Bonlieu pour échanger avec le plus grand nombre ! Entrée libre, activités et explications adaptées à tous les âges.

Retrouvez ici plus d’informations sur l’exposition et les activités organisées lors de la Fête de la Science.

Les objectifs de la fête de la science

La Fête de la Science permet chaque année de découvrir, comprendre, expérimenter, débattre sur les rapports entre sciences et société, explorer les technologies d’aujourd’hui et de demain, rapprocher les sciences des citoyennes et citoyens. Sous des formes attractives alliant sciences et culture, la Fête de la Science permet de faire découvrir l’extraordinaire richesse des disciplines scientifiques et illustre les apports majeurs de la science au service de la société et de ses nouveaux défis.

Des chercheurs et chercheuses de l’université Savoie Mont Blanc partagent et échangent avec le public

Pour l’université Savoie Mont Blanc, la Fête de la Science est l’occasion de mieux faire connaître ses axes de recherche ainsi que son rôle auprès de la société. La rencontre avec les collégiennes, collégiens, lycéennes et lycéens permet également de sensibiliser les jeunes publics et de développer de l’intérêt pour la science en général et pour les études et les carrières scientifiques.

Chaque année, les personnels, enseignantes, enseignants, chercheurs et chercheuses de l’université s’investissent avec enthousiasme pour partager leur passion de la science avec le grand public.
Pour l’édition 2022, l’IUT d’Annecy, Polytech Annecy-Chambéry et au moins 3 laboratoires de l’Université Savoie Mont Blanc vous donnent rendez-vous en Savoie et Haute-Savoie dans le cadre des actions déployées en collaboration avec la Turbine sciences (Haute-Savoie) et la Galerie Eurêka (Savoie) :

En savoir plus