PhD registration

Registering for a PhD at the USMB

Look out! For the doctorate, the pedagogical registration precedes the administrative registration.

The procedures for pedagogical registration are specific to each Doctoral School.

When first enrolling for a doctorate:

  • The director of the doctoral school ensures that the scientific, material and financial conditions are met to guarantee the proper conduct of the candidate's research and preparation of the thesis, after receiving the opinion of the director of the affiliatedResearch unit on the quality of the project;
  • the thesis charter is signed by the doctoral student, his/her thesis director, the director of the doctoral school and the head of the host unit or team. (Order of 25 May 2016 on academics , art. 12)
  • At the time of administrative registration, in the school, you must provide :
    - the Convention de academics validated by the director of the doctoral school.
    - the administrative registration file to be edited from the personal account (on ADUM)


1. Application for first year registration

atDoctoral School SIE
Laboratories concerned:

  • CARRTEL (Alpine Centre of research on the Tropical Networks of Limit Ecosystems, UMR A 42),
  • EDYTEM (Environnements, Dynamiques et Territoires de la Montagne, UMR 5204),
  • LIBM (Laboratoire Interuniversitaire de Biologie de la Motricité, EA 7424)
  • LISTIC (Laboratory of Informatics, Systems, Information and Knowledge Processing, EA 3703),
  • LOCIE (Laboratory for Design Optimization and Environmental Engineering, EA 3704),
  • SYMME (Systems and Materials for Mechatronics, EA 4144).

atDoctoral School CST
Laboratories concerned :

  • Centre Favre (CEntre de research en Droit Antoine Favre, EA 4143),
  • EDYTEM (Environments, Dynamics and Territories of the Mountain, UMR 5204)
  • IREGE (Institute of research in Management and Economics, EA 2426),
  • LLSETI (Languages, Literatures, Societies, Cross-Border and International Studies, EA 3706),

2. Application for first year registration in MSTII, STEP, CSV, ISCE, SHPT, EEATS, I-MEP2, PHYS (co-accredited EDs)

Laboratories concerned :

  • IMEP-LAHC (Institut de Microélectronique, Électromagnétisme et Photonique - Laboratoire d'Microfréquences et Caractérisations, UMR 5130).
  • ISTerre (Institut des Sciences de la Terre, UMR 5275),
  • LAMA (Laboratory of Mathematics, UMR 5127),
  • LAPP (Annecy Laboratory of Particle Physics, UMR 5814),
  • LAPTH (Annecy Laboratory of Theoretical Physics, UMR 5108),
  • LECA (Laboratory of Alpine Ecology, UMR 5553),
  • LEPMI (Laboratory of Electrochemistry and Physicochemistry of Materials and Interfaces, UMR 5041),
  • LIP/PC2S (Laboratoire Interuniversitaire de Psychologie, EA 4145),
  • LPNC (Laboratory of Psychology and Neurocognition, UMR 5105),

Pedagogical registration

The educational registration is done in 4 steps:

Log in to your personal account on theADUM website(

Update and/or complete carefully and in detail (with the help of your thesis director) the tabs :

- Progress of the thesis
- Thesis follow-up
- Publications...

Validate the information and edit:

- the Convention de academics
- the Doctoral Registration File
- the RGPD document
- the Doctoral Charter
- the Anti-plagiarism Charter

  • For "USMB - Doctoral School SIE /- CST" PhD students

Send to the manager of your Doctoral School EIS or STC via your laboratory:
( /

- your Agreement from academics + the documents mentioned above, duly signed
- as well as the additional documents to your file:

. Copies of your transcripts and Research Master classification
. Letter of motivation from the applicant
. Letter of support (e.g. thesis director, teachers, etc.)
. Proof of funding (except for candidates receiving a grant from the Ministry, the Region or the Savoie Mont Blanc Council)
. Curriculum Vitae


  • For "USMB-EDs co-accredited" PhD students (PHYS, MSTII, CSV, ...)

Send to the manager of your Doctoral School, via your laboratory:

- your Agreement from academics + the documents mentioned above, duly signed
- as well as the additional documents required by your Doctoral School.

Administrative registration

After validation by the Directors of the EDs concerned and the USMB Doctoral College, the doctoral student will receive an email notifying him/her of his/her pedagogical registration (signed academics agreement) with the elements necessary to finalise his/her administrative registration (procedure, links).



The USMB Doctoral Commission website is currently being updated.

Managers academics USMB
04 79 75 91 51 / 84 32
Université Savoie Mont Blanc
DDRV - academics USMB - 27 rue Marcoz - BP 1104 - 73004 Chambéry Cédex.