History and background

Jean-Baptiste Marcoz, a politician and professor of mathematics, bequeathed his entire fortune to the City of Chambéry in 1834, founded his first vocational school and allowed the construction, in 1890, of the initial buildings of the current university presidency. A vice-rectorate was established in Chambéry in 1860, then a rectorate in 1862, which was kept until 1920. It was not until 1960 that a University Scientific College was created, followed in 1963 by a University Literary College. Their merger, in 1969, gave birth to the Centre Universitaire de Savoie (CUS), based in Chambéry. Its first president, the lawyer Roger Decottignies, left his name in the amphitheatre on Marcoz Street.

In 1973, the Annecy-le-Vieux University Institute of Technology (Annecy University of Technology) opened its doors and paved the way for successful bi-departmental development. Finally, by the decree of 27 June 1979, the CUS officially became the University of Chambéry with the customary name "Université de Savoie". Jacob-Bellecombette's student residence was named after its first president, biologist Jacques Rebecq.

Since then, the Savoyard establishment has continued to evolve. It is located in two departments and divided into two parts
on four main sites:

  • the Presidency and the National Training Centre for Teachers working with young Sensory Deficient People (CNFEDS), in Chambéry;
  • the Annecy, Bourget-du-Lac and Jacob-Bellecombette campuses.

Concerned about spreading and networking the territory in which it is established, the university is also established in other cities in the territory such as Thonon-les-Bains or Annemasse or soon in Ferney-Voltaire.

It became a founding member of the PRES "Université de Grenoble" on 16 July 2010, which became a Community of universities and institutions "Université Grenoble Alpes" with the law of 22 July 2013. As a "strengthened" partner of this ComUE, the disappearance of the latter led it to discuss, within the framework of the ordinance of 12 December 2018, a territorial coordination agreement with the new Grenoble Alpes University, which will appear on 1 January 2020.

In 2014, the University of Savoy decided to change its identity. The following year, it became "Université Savoie Mont Blanc", a symbol of unity within the two Savoyard departments and of national and international visibility.

Located between Lyon and Grenoble, on the borders of Switzerland and Italy, the Université Savoie Mont Blanc is a major player in the intellectual and cultural, social and economic development of its territory. Thanks to the close and constructive links it has forged with other local, regional and national actors, the Université Savoie Mont Blanc is today an essential partner in the academic dynamics of a French-speaking area that transcends borders, as demonstrated by its project for a European university.

At the beginning of the 2018 academic year, it has nearly 15,000 students to whom it offers about 200 degree courses at all levels of L-M-D. Its teaching is based on the activities of 19 recognized research laboratories.

High-level research, high-quality multidisciplinary training that ensures proven professionalization, personalized supervision, international openness are all assets to ensure personal success and the best integration of students into today's and tomorrow's knowledge-based society.